When cancer struck family – and what turned things around

My paternal great-great-grandfather, Richard Payne farmed a large spread outside Tupelo, Mississippi in the 1850s into the 1860s. After a major battle was fought there between the army of the CSA and Gen. Grant’s US troops in mid-July 1864, my great-great-grandfather joined the Confederate Army and wound up serving in a Calvary regiment. Great-great-grandfather Payne was given the rank of corporal going in and proceeded to participate in some of the bloodiest battles that occurred in the final 9 months of the Civil War.

After the war, my great-great grandfather’s boys — which included my great grandfather William Wylie Payne (1862-1948) — moved to Texas. One, Dr. Franklin Payne was a veterinarian who died in a barn fire, sad to say, in some dinky doo town in east Texas. The other boys moved to North Texas where William Wylie bought and operated a farm in Floyd County (Near Floydada where my father was born in 1930). He had a number of sons including Reggie Vernon Payne (b. 1895 d. 1976), my grandfather, who married Nettie Alice Warren just before or right after WW1. They had 3 children — one of whom was my father, Walter W. Payne (1930-1992).

William Wylie Payne – Floyd County Commissioner

Now here is where we skirt the border of the Twilight Zone: Great grandfather William Wylie Payne (Photo on right) contracted terminal, inoperable, metastatic colon cancer (probably the end result of his penchant for chewing tobacco, smoking and dipping) in the late 1920s, and was declared a hopeless case by his MDs. He went to see Harry Hoxsey (whose veterinarian great grandfather had created the “Hoxsey Cancer Elixir” in the 1840s), got his herbal elixir, and then went home and sipped himself into full remission which held until his death from old age in 1948 (My later father was a pallbearer at his funeral).    

Some forty-two years later, in 1990, my father was diagnosed with inoperable terminal metastatic lung cancer (Squamous Cell Carcinoma). This was the end result of his only human weakness & vice: smoking (since he was age 16 or so). While consulting with his board-certified oncologist my father mentioned to him that I had spun a novel experimental approach to eradicating solid tumors (which I had dubbed “The Metabolic Oncolytic Regimen”). His MD told my father flat out that “Conventional oncology methods will do little for you. If your son really has something that might turn this dire situation around, have him Fax it to me right away”. I did and the doc found sufficient merit in my theoretical approach to justify implementing it. In about 8 weeks’ time, the main tumor in my father’s left lung was no longer visible on scans and not long thereafter all evidence of cancer in his lymph nodes and mediastinum was gone as well. The oncologist told my parents that he had seen only one other swift turnaround like my father’s in his decades of practicing oncology. Sadly, a local radiation oncologist talked my father into doing radiotherapy to catch any “microtumors” in his lung and by so doing “prevent a recurrence” of his cancer. This MDs technician negligently left the lead blockers off the areas of my father’s body that were not to be irradiated — resulting in my father’s being irradiated beyond all hope. He spent the last 3 months of his life in utter misery. For all my inventiveness I could not undo what the radiation oncologist’s technician had done. On 6-12-1992 my father passed away in an Amarillo hospital. We buried him in a cemetery south of my hometown of Plainview (Texas). 

Walter W. Payne (1962 or so)

A sad ending for my father, a man Ross Perot had spent time with in the early 1960s and referred to as a “genuine computer genius” during one especially memorable conversation with my Choctaw mother (Perot worked as a salesman for IBM back then and visited with my father on a regular basis).  

In the mid-1990s I was funded by the NIH to attend a historic cancer conference devoted to non-standard oncolytic treatments (My work in metabolic oncology theory had come to the attention of a handful of scientists at the NIH who helped arrange for my being funded to attend this particular conference). One night this attractive lady came up to me and asked, “Are you, Dr. Payne?” I nodded and she said, “Hi, I am Catherine Salveson, the co-producer of the documentary ‘Hoxsey: The Quack Who Cured Cancer?’ I’ve heard from many docs and scientists here that you came up with this amazing method of killing off solid tumors in people which has been used and actually did this”. I responded: “You are referring to my Metabolic Oncolytic Regimen, which is based, in part, on the pioneering work and related patents of NASA scientist Dr. Clarence Cone, Jr. But before I talk about this, I have one helluva Hoxsey story to tell you. You see, my paternal great grandfather was cured of terminal, inoperable metastatic colon cancer after sipping the Hoxsey elixir over many months back in the 1920s”.  Catherine grabbed my arm and said, “We are having dinner together right now”. We wound up in some swanky restaurant near the NIH complex where we chatted and ate and chatted away for hours on end.

By the time Catherine parted company that evening I had shared all the details I could recall about my great grandfather’s response to the Hoxsey elixir as well as my father’s to the MOR.  

Interestingly, the MOR did go on to earn me some additional recognition such as:

mensan-in-national-spotlight-with-border-1997-mensa-bulletin.jpg (448×810) (wordpress.com)

These entries on my personal blog site include mention of my work in metabolic oncology theory and in some instances include links to published papers of mine:

Making pancreatic cancer cells too acidic to survive

Exploiting a vulnerability in some forms of cancer: the Warburg Effect revisited

Using bacteria in tumors to eradicate them

I would be remiss not to make mention a species of immunotherapy theory I developed (based on work by Zheng Cui, M.D., Ph.D. at Wake Forest University) which MDs in Mexico adopted and began using in 2011. It has since put many end-stage cancer patients into partial and even complete remission especially men with advanced metastatic prostate cancer.

© October 2021 by Dr. Anthony G. Payne. All rights reserved.

Disclaimer: I am not a physician and have never diagnosed or treated patients. My work down through the years has, in part, involved spinning biomed hypotheses which were adopted and adapted by physicians, mostly outside the United States. I have also done some lab benchwork and lots of writing. Disclaimer ⚖ | For Seekers & Other Heretics (wordpress.com)

About Dr. Anthony G. Payne

Most of the time you will find me spinning ideas and web content for client firms and especially physicians (MDs and DOs). Among my many passions are helping others help others, word weaving (Published writer & author, ghostwriter, copywriter, proofreader, editor), and art (Mainly sketching. I revel in Jackson Pollock's art and thus enjoy experimenting with his approach combined with those of other artists). Nature is a focus too, reflected in the fact I have been involved in the deep ecology movement since the 1980s and (more recently) the Forest Church movement. I am also a lay Celtic Christian monk (Novice monk in 2015, full monk in 2017). This is the realization of a calling I have "flirted with" for many moons now. You are encouraged to check out my "Summer Cloud's Spiritual Watering Hole"​ website to learn more: http://summerclouds.weebly.com.

Posted on October 5, 2021, in AMERICAN INDIAN, CAM - Complementary Alternative Medicine, Cancer, EGO write proinde EGO sum, HERBAL MEDICINE, MEDICINE, MINISTRY OF ENLIGHTENMENT, NUTRITION & DIET, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on When cancer struck family – and what turned things around.

Comments are closed.